Technologies

Experts in the next generation and Mission Critical
Networking technologies

CWDM DWDM

Currently, there are two types of WDM in existence today: Coarse WDM (CWDM) and Dense

CWDM - Coarse Wavelength Division Multiplexing. WDM systems with fewer than eight active wavelengths per fiber.
CWDM can match the basic capabilities of DWDM but at lower capacity and lower cost. CWDM enables carriers to respond flexibly to diverse customer needs in metropolitan regions where fiber may be at a premium. However, it’s not really in competition with DWDM as both fulfill distinct roles that largely depend upon carrier-specific circumstances and requirements anyway. The point and purpose of CWDM is short-range communications. It uses wide-range frequencies and spreads wavelengths far apart from each other. Standardized channel spacing permits room for wavelength drift as lasers heat up and cool down during operation. By design, CWDM equipment is compact and cost-effective as compared to DWDM designs.

DWDM - Dense Wavelength Division Multiplexing. WDM systems with more than eight active wavelengths per fiber.
DWDM is designed for long-haul transmission where wavelengths are packed tightly together. Vendors have found various techniques for cramming 32, 64, or 128 wavelengths into a fiber. When boosted by Erbium Doped-Fiber Amplifiers (EDFAs)—a sort of performance enhancer for high-speed communications—these systems can work over thousands of kilometers. Densely packed channels aren’t without their limitations. First, high-precision filters are required to peel away one specific wavelength without interfering with neighboring wavelengths. Those don’t come cheap. Second, precision lasers must keep channels exactly on target. That nearly always means such lasers must operate at a constant temperature. High-precision, high-stability lasers are expensive, as are related cooling systems.

Infradata has years of experience and a great amount of expertise in integrating CWDM & DWDM solutions in big and complex networks. With the highest partner status with MRV Networks, Infradata is able to offer you the best conditions to create a highly efficient solution for your network.

Interested in the services of Infradata concerning CWDM & DWDM solutions for your network don't hesitate to contact us at +31 (0)71-7501525 or mail info@infradata.nl.

Technologien

CWDM DWDM

WDM (Wavelenth Division Multiplexing) ist ein etabliertes Multiplexverfahren für Lichtwellen und liegt aktuell in den Varianten CWDM und DWDM vor.

CWDM (Coarse= Grob) Systeme haben weniger als acht aktive Wellenlängen pro Glasfaser. Diese Technologie besitzt die grundlegenden Funktionen von DWDM, hat aber geringere Kapazitäten und auch niedrigere Kosten. Mit CWDM Systemen können Carrier flexibel auf Kundenanforderungen in Metropolregionen reagieren, wo Glasfaseranschlüsse einen Mehrwert bieten können. Allerdings ist CWDM keine wirkliche Konkurrenz zu DWDM, da beide unterschiedliche Anforderungen erfüllen, die weitgehend von netzbetreiberspezifischen Rahmenbedingungen abhängen. Der Sinn und Zweck von CWDM ist eine kostengünstige Nahbereichskommunikation. Es verwendet ein groberes Wellenlängenraster und einen standardisierten Kanalabstand, welcher Spielraum lässt für Wellenlängendrifts aufgrund von Erhitzung und Abkühlung preisgünstigerer Laser während des Betriebs. Vom Design her sind CWDM Geräte kompakter und kostengünstiger im Vergleich zu DWDM-Geräten. 

DWDM (Dense= Dichte) Systeme arbeiten mit mehr als acht aktiven Wellenlängen pro Glasfaser und dienen zur Übertragung langer Strecken. Hersteller haben verschiedene Techniken zur Realisierung von 32, 64 oder 128 Wellenlängen pro Faser entwickelt. Werden die Signale von sogenannten Erbium Doped Fiber Amplifier (EDFA) verstärkt, können diese Systeme über Tausende von Kilometern arbeiten. Die Nutzung dicht gepackter Kanäle ist allerdings nicht ohne neue Anforderungen möglich. Zunächst sind teure Hochpräzisionsfilter erforderlich, um eine spezifische Wellenlänge ohne Störung von benachbarten Wellenlängen trennen zu können. Zweitens müssen Präzisionslaser die Kanäle driftfrei stabil halten. Dafür müssen diese Laser bei konstanter Temperatur betrieben werden, was sie selber sowie die dafür notwendigen Kühlsysteme teuer macht.

Infradata verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung und weitreichendes Know-how bei der Integration von CWDM/ DWDM-Lösungen in großen und komplexen Netzwerken. Infradata besitzt unter anderem den höchsten Partnerstatus beim Hersteller MRV Networks und hat daher die besten Voraussetzungen, Ihnen hocheffiziente CWDM/ DWDM-Lösungen entwickeln und anbieten zu können.

Interesse an CWDM/ DWDM Services von Infradata? Dann nehmen Sie bitte Kontakt mit uns auf: telefonisch unter +49 (0) 69 509 575 751 oder per E-Mail info@infradata.de